...and the winner of the Design Prize Rotterdam 2007 is: Thonik


Rotterdam Design Prize 2007

26 May to 19 August 2007

Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam

The ‘Rotterdam Design Prize 2007’ is showing the most important visions in current Dutch design at Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Fourteen nominees have been selected from more than two hundred entries from designers, design studios, clients and intermediaries. Their names will be made known during the opening by the chair of the nominations committee Bas Heijne. The exhibition will then officially be opened by Orhan Kaya, Rotterdam’s councillor for Participation and Culture.

The winner will be selected during the exhibition by an international jury and will receive €20,000. The prize-giving will take place on Saturday 30 June 2007. The jury comprises Sam Baron (head of design, Fabrica, Treviso), Didier Krzentowski (director, Galerie Kreo, Paris) and Gareth Williams (curator, V&A Museum, London).

The exhibition 'Rotterdam Design Prize 2007' displays a series of projects and design motivations by fourteen leading designers and clients who have made a particularly important contribution to Dutch design over the last two years. The exhibition shows how current social and cultural developments influence design and highlights new partnerships and innovative products. The 'Rotterdam Design Prize 2007' presents the work of established designers alongside emerging talent.

In addition to the cash prize, this year there are also several client prizes. The Trustees of the Rotterdam Design Prize has assembled a portfolio of commissions from Rotterdam’s business community. The housing association Com.wonen, the Rotterdam Chamber of Commerce and the Economic Development Board Rotterdam will each award a commission to one of the nominees. The Rotterdam Design Prize hopes that this will provide an active and ongoing impulse for the design climate in the Netherlands.


Irma Boom
Joris Laarman
Koninklijke Tichelaar Makkum
Marga Weimans
Marije Vogelzang
Petra Blaisse / Inside Outside
Philips Design
Ranj Serious Games
Strange Attractors
Studio Makkink & Bey
Ton Matton

  The winner of the 'Rotterdam Chamber of Commerce Commission' is:
Petra Blaisse / Inside Outside.

The winner of the 'Com·wonen Commission' is:

The winner of the 'EDBR Prize' is:
Marije Vogelzang.

Design Prize Rotterdam 2007
Nominations Committee Report

It is increasingly said that since 11 September 2001 the world will never be the same again. But what this somewhat hackneyed statement
really means is that the world should never be the same. For this thunderbolt has made us realise not only that the world is a much more complex and dangerous place than we could have imagined a few years ago, but also that we can no longer simply shrug our shoulders and ignore the world around us. Whether the attacks in the United States and their geopolitical repercussions are the cause of this reversal in our consciousness or simply a symptom of it can be discussed at great length – and indeed this debate is ongoing. What is clear is that we now stand in a new relationship to the world, no matter how difficult it may be to understand it. We are once more engaged.
The change is unmistakeable, but not unequivocal.
Everywhere people seek new means of relating to this large and complex world, but their conclusions differ enormously and can lead to heated discussions and even violence. Panic and rhetoric often seem to get the upper hand. Alongside the new engagement there is also a strong desire to hide away, to create one’s own safe living environment – cost what it will – and to keep the disagreeable stuff out of view. We are witnessing an marked reaction against the ideals and expectations the West fostered in the post-war period: against further unification of Europe, against multiculturalism, against secularism.
read more >